The 7th Annual MWSCAS Student Paper Contest

Out of the submitted excellent 142 Student papers, the Jury have voted for the ten top papers. The selected papers were presented in a special poster session on Sunday, December 28th 2003 where four of them have been selected in a second round for the student paper contest awards. The following is a listing of these 10 finalists—in alphabetical order.

- 1. English/Arabic Bilingual Dictionary Construction using Parallel Texts from the Internet Archive
 - By: Ahmed, M. A. <mahafi@is.tokushima-u.ac.jp>
- A Model of Return on Investment for Information Systems Security By: Al-Humaigani, M. A. < humaigani@hotmail.com >
- A Systematic Approach for Scaling Coefficients of Discrete-Time and Continuous-Time Sigma-Delta Modulators.
 By: Beilleau, N. < <u>Nicolas.beilleau@lip6.fr</u>>
- 4. Performance Modeling Of Overlapping IBSSS In The IEEE 802.11 Dcf Mode] By: Eladly, H. heladly@mail.smu.edu
- 5. Re-Spacing Framework for Interconnect Cross coupling Noise Reduction By: Elgamel, M. < mas8520@cacs.louisiana.edu>
- 6. A Tunable Band pass Sigma Delta Modulators By EL-Nozahi, M. melnozahi@ieee.org
- 7. A Quality of Service Protocol for Mobile Ad Hoc Networks By Elshakankiri, M. m shakankiri@yahoo.com
- 8. Variable-Size Sliding Window Optical CDMA MAC Protocol By: Mohamed, M.A. m-Aly@ieee.org
- 9. A practical simulation based study on MIM-capacitors processed in MOS technologies By: Tatinian, W. < William-tatinian@amis.com>
- 10. Blind Source Separation for Frequency Dependent Channels By: Yuan, Liu. < liuyuan97@yahoo.com>

The Student Paper Contest Winners

According to the point system set by the Jury, two papers have ranked to the first place. Thus four winners have been nominated.

First Place Winners (\$300 each paper)

- "Re spacing Framework for interconnect cross coupling noise reduction" by M. Elgamel and Stacey Crocher.
 - University of Louisiana, Lafayette. USA.
- "Variable-Size sliding window Optical MAC Protocol" by:
 - M. Mohamed

Thebes Higher Institute for Engineering. Maadi, Cairo, Egypt.

Second Place Winner (\$200)

- "Tunable Bandwidth Sigma/Delta Modulation" by:
 - M. El Nozahi.

Faculty of Engineering, Ain Shams University. Egypt.

Third Place Winner (\$ 200)

 "Systematic Approach for scaling coefficient of Discrete- and Continuous-time Sigma / Delta modulators" by:

Nicolas Beilleau. University of Paris. France.